After The Rain…

20141206_121626

One of thebest times to go for a walk in the park is at dusk, when the light is starting to fade, and the people start to peter out. Not only do you get treated to a great view, but you’re suddenly granted a lot more space to yourself. You can sing a little louder, look a little ugly, and care just that little bit less about what the world around you is thinking if you decided to run for only 10 paces, then jump high in the air, just for the sheer joy of it.

But the best time to go for a walk in the park is just after it’s rained. Or sometimes even while it’s raining. Because then no one is around. Everyone else is too scared of a little water to brave the world outside, too convinced that they will catch a cold. And, while I’m sure the cold did contribute to my getting sick on a few occassions, I did enjoy something most people missed. There’s a wonderful kind of quietness; just the rain, and the absence of other footsteps and traffic. Almost like the way the it would sound if humans hadn’t built cities and engines. A nice, comforting kind of calm.

I took this photo when walking down Black Mountain. I’d started to climb the mountain just before it started pouring down, and got drenched. Once the rain had cleared up a little, I started back down, and had the whole trail to myself. I sang at the top of my lungs the whole way down, and took my time soaking up the wonderful view.

Leave a Reply

